Harvest Moon Time

• “The Harvest Moon is not really bigger, brighter or more pumpkin-colored than other full moons, but it’s special because, at this time of year in the Northern Hemisphere, the time between successive moonrises – from one night to the next – is shorter than usual.”           (source: earthsky.org)

Fall is in the air! We’ve just passed the autumnal equinox, and boy isn’t it already shaping up to be an interesting season. Last night was the Harvest Moon and we have nothing to harvest this year! We have lots of rain in our extended forecast and even the weatherman didn’t seem to think we’d be able to see the moon when it was at its fullest. Even though the forecast was bad, I didn’t have too much trouble seeing the moon. The only real trouble I had was trying to capture the full essence of the sight in a simple photograph. It’s possibly due to the rainy weather, but there were several “rings” around the moon last night. Sadly, my camera didn’t do them justice so I had to settle for sharing a couple of simple shots. The top picture is actual just a cropped and slightly cleaned-up version of the bottom picture. It sure would be nice if I could remember where I put my tripod, but that’s another story entirely.

I might as well change topics real quick and on a completely different note, the mid-season finale of Doctor Who (on BBC America) broadcast last night. It was the farewell of the Ponds and yes I cried, like the girl I am, while watching. I love, love, love, love the Doctor… all of them!! None of my friends (significant other not included) watch the show, which is a travesty! I’m a fan of British TV and most British things in general though, it’s true. I’m still very much sad over losing the Ponds though. It’s going to be a very long wait for the Christmas episode, that’s for sure!

Now then, I suppose I’ve written far too much and broken far too many grammatical errors that I should wrap this up today. Happy Fall everyone!

Post A Week 2012

This entry was published on September 30, 2012 at 8:23 am. It’s filed under My Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

