Not Just Any Moon, It’s A Supermoon!

Full Flower Moon – May In most areas, flowers are abundant everywhere during this time. Thus, the name of this Moon. Other names include the Full Corn Planting Moon, or the Milk Moon.  (source: Farmers’ Almanac)

The name SuperMoon was coined by astrologer Richard Nolle in 1979, defined as:  …a new or full moon which occurs with the Moon at or near (within 90% of) its closest approach to Earth in a given orbit (perigee). In short, Earth, Moon and Sun are all in a line, with Moon in its nearest approach to Earth.            (source: Wikipedia)

I wish I had something witty to add to this post. As it stands, I believe this week’s post will just have to speak for itself… not there’s a whole lot to this photo either. I’m also thinking that my pictures have gotten progressively worse as I’ve been adding them each week. Perhaps it’s because I’ve been rushing to get some type of picture ready to post….

All the same, here’s one of my shots of the “Supermoon” from last night. The first part of our evening was filled with thunderstorms, but luckily they had cleared out just before I went to bed so I was able to grab a few (more like 30+) pictures of the moon. It was much more beautiful in person, my pictures could never do it justice.

Post A Week 2012

This entry was published on May 6, 2012 at 6:27 am. It’s filed under My Pictures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

